The Return of The King – Ryan’s Sermon Blog (Part One)

26 Sep

Does the return of Christ matter?

‘If things go on like they’ve been going for the last however many years, there is a good chance that I will die before Jesus returns. So what’s the big deal? His return won’t really affect me. Why is it important that I remember that Jesus will return?’

That’s the gist of a question posed to me. So, what is the big deal with Jesus return? Why should I remember it? Or even long for it?
Well, here are two briefs reasons why it’s worth keeping his return in the forefront of our minds and hearts.

1. It’s part of the whole story.
The King wasn’t only born. He didn’t only live and die. He also rose from the dead, returned to his Father and one day will return for his people.  It’s part of the whole story. And if you lose parts, sometimes it means you can miss the whole. Remembering the whole, gives me perspective on life – it gives me the broad scope on to which I can think about life and live life.                                          And it gives me hope and comfort. The people of 1 Peter, in all their suffering, part of their hope is tied up with the King returning (cf. 1 Peter 4:13).

2. It drives my living now.
I don’t only look back to the cross to fuel right living now (e.g. love, because Christ loved you). I also look forward to His Return and this in turn, as God works in me by His Spirit, shapes my living as well. Consider this phrase from 1 Peter 4:7:
‘The end of all things is near. Therefore be…’ 
In other words: His Return drives my living now. What is to come shapes what I am now. In a way, by His grace, I simply want to live in line with what I have been made and will be when He returns.

Ryan van der Avoort

***

Make sure you join us at CITB next Sunday to hear Ryan continue with our sermon series ”The Return of The King’ – Matthew 25.

2 Responses to “The Return of The King – Ryan’s Sermon Blog (Part One)”

  1. Meg Pollett September 28, 2012 at 8:17 am #

    Looking forward to part 2!

  2. Ryan van der Avoort October 2, 2012 at 5:07 pm #

    I was reading something today and reminded of 1 Thessalonians and 2 Peter’s highlighting of the return of Christ and how that shapes our lives. Give them a read and see what you think.

Leave a Reply

