Knowing God

1 Feb

Over the last year I have been meeting with some men from church and thinking through key Christian doctrines.  Together we are wanting to know God better as we study his word.  Firstly we thought about the Doctrine of the Scriptures – Why do we believe that the Bible is God’s infallible word?  Why do we believe that it is the final authority on all matters of faith and conduct?  Then we thought about the Doctrine of the Trinity.  What does it mean that we worship one God in three persons?  Why is it so important that Jesus is both God and man?

Recently we got to the doctrine of sin.  As we looked at lots of Bible passages together we were convicted of the depth of our depravity before God.  We also saw that unless we get this doctrine right we cannot understand God or ourselves properly.  Unless we realise that ‘we are dead in our sins’ we will not understand that we need God to save us while we contribute nothing.  Unless we understand that even our righteous efforts are ‘filthy rags’ marred by our sin we won’t fully appreciate what Jesus did for us on the cross.  As a result, we were moved to pray this prayer of confession together, taken from a book of prayers written hundreds of years ago.  You might like to make it your prayer as well?

Phil Colgan

 

O God, May thy Spirit speak in me that I may speak to thee.

I have no merit, let the merit of Jesus stand for me.

I am undeserving, but I look to thy tender mercy.

I am full of infirmities, wants, sin; thou art full of grace.

I confess my sin, my frequent sin, my wilful sin;

All my powers of body and soul are defiled:

A fountain of pollution is deep within my nature.

Lord, dost thou have mercy on me?

Thou hast struck a heavy blow at my pride, at the false god of self, and I lie in pieces before thee.

But thou hast given me another Master and Lord, thy Son, Jesus,

and now my heart is turned towards holiness,

my life speeds as an arrow from a bow towards complete obedience to thee.

Help me in all my doings to put down sin and to humble pride.

Save me from the love of the world and the pride of life,

from everything that is natural to fallen man,

and let Christ’s nature be seen in me day by day.

 

(Taken from The Valley of Vision: Puritan Prayers & Devotions)

Leave a Reply

